Posted by on January 13, 2021 4:41 pm
Categories: A-Auto A-Featured Democracy under attack Impeachment Insurrection Trump's White House

For the second time in his term, Donald Trump has been impeached.

The US House of Representatives has impeached President Donald Trump for “incitement of insurrection” at last week’s Capitol riot.

He is the first president in US history to be twice impeached – to be charged with crimes by Congress.

Mr Trump, a Republican, will now face a trial in the Senate, where if convicted he could face being barred from ever holding office again.

The impeachment measure passed largely along party lines.

Mr Trump is due to leave office on 20 January, following his election defeat last November to Democrat Joe Biden.

After several hours of impassioned debate on Wednesday, the Democratic-controlled House voted.

Six Republicans said beforehand they would side with Democrats to impeach the president. But the majority of conservatives remained loyal to Mr Trump.

Four more Republicans joined them in voting to impeach Trump.

Here are the ten House Republicans who voted to impeach Donald Trump on the charge of incitement of insurrection:

John Katko of New York.
Liz Cheney of Wyoming.
Adam Kinzinger of Illinois.
Fred Upton of Michigan.
Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington state.
Dan Newhouse of Washington state.
Peter Meijer of Michigan.
Tom Rice of South Carolina.
Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio.
David Valadao of California.

That is, by the way, the largest number of representatives to “cross over” and vote against their party in the history of presidential impeachments.